Bhutan Scouts Association

Scouting was introduced in Bhutan in 1970 but it was only in January 1996, His Majesty, the Fourth DrukGyalpo, while expressing concern on a number of issues on education, emphasized the need to adopt a systematic and Comprehensive Programme to address youth related issues. Emanating from this wisdom, and realizing the usefulness and potential of the Scout Programme for the all-round development of youth, the then the YGCD, under the Department of Education launched the School Based Scout Programme as one of the channels to promote as one of the channels to promote value education among the students. The programme achieved considerable progress both in terms of membership as well as the type of programmes conducted. 

In the same year, consequently, on 26th July 1999, Bhutan Scouts Association (BSA) became a full-fledged member of the World Organization of the Scout Movement (WOSM) during the 35th World Scout conference at Durban, South Africa.

The Scouting programme in Bhutan is based in Four Section; Nachung Scouts (Cubs), Nazhoen Scouts (Scouts), Rovers and Community Based Scouts and today it has more than 40,000 members.